9 Jan 2007

Five Pacific teams to take part in the 12th Asia Pacific Bowls in New Zealand

11:11 am on 9 January 2007

Five Pacific teams have been listed as taking part in the 12 Asia Pacific bowls championships in New Zealand starting this weekend.

Fiji, Cook Islands, Norfolk Island, Papua New Guinea, and Samoa will join 12 other teams from other round the world for the week long event.

This year's Championship will have an added edge as the event is a qualifying tournament for the 2008 World Bowls Championships also to be held in Christchurch.

Eight men's and seven women's teams will qualify to join already qualified Australia, NZ and Canada in the men's with Malaysia in the women's section instead of Canada.