14 May 2013

Lack of quorum again wrecks Nauru parliamentary sitting

9:37 pm on 14 May 2013

For the third consecutive week the Nauru Parliament has not been able to undertake any business because it has lacked a quorum.

"Just seven of the 18 MPs turned up today ."

The others, led by the president, Sprent Dabwido, are boycotting in protest at the speaker's refusal to accept his advice from last month that parliament be dissolved.

But the speaker, Godfrey Thoma, says that cannot happen without parliament first debating the advice.