18 May 2017

Niue cabinet sworn in

11:36 am on 18 May 2017

One of Niue's new MPs Mona Ainu'u has a place at the cabinet table alongside some veterans of Premier Sir Toke Talagi's government.

Sir Toke's new cabinet was sworn in yesterday.

Tala Niue reports Sir Toke has retained his ministers, Pokotoa Sipeli, Billy Talagi and Dalton Tagelagi.

But he has made changes to his associate minister line-up, replacing Kupa Magatogia and Joan Viliamu with Andrew Funaki and Ms Ainu'u.

The news site reports the premier re-iterated his broad policy for the island at the swearing in.

Sir Toke said his focus for the next three years would be to put in place policies to help improve the quality of life for all people on the island who are committed to making Niue their home.

Fale fono, Niue

Fale fono, Niue Photo: RNZ/ Sally Round