28 Jan 2014

4 new players in NZ women's cricket squad

11:27 am on 28 January 2014

4 new players have been named in the New Zealand women's cricket squad for next month's tour by the West Indies.

Holly Huddleston and Samantha Curtis of Auckland, Hayley Jensen of Canterbury and Felicity Leydon-Davis of Northern Districts are all in line to make their debuts in the series which includes three one-dayers and five T20 internationals.

Meanwhile Sara McGlashan and Katey Martin return to the side after missing the tour to the West Indies in October.

Some experienced names drop out of the squad, with Amy Satterthwaite, Sian Ruck, Rachel Candy, Lea Tahuhu and Erin Bermingham the omissions from the side that toured the West Indies.

Recently named Interim Coach Warren Lees says the team has been picked on current form and the performances of some of the younger players in the domestic competitions have really caught their attention.

The White Ferns squad is....

Suzie Bates (c) - Otago Sparks

Sophie Devine (vc) - Wellington Blaze

Nicola Browne - Northern Spirit

Samantha Curtis - Auckland Hearts

Maddy Green - Auckland Hearts

Holly Huddleston - Auckland Hearts

Hayley Jensen - Canterbury Magicians

Felicity Leydon-Davis - Northern Spirit

Sara McGlashan - Auckland Hearts

Frances Mackay - Canterbury Magicians

Katey Martin - Otago Sparks

Morna Nielson - Northern Spirit

Katie Perkins - Auckland Hearts

Rachel Priest - Wellington Blaze