28 Jan 2015

O'Keefe promoted to Super Rugby position

12:21 pm on 28 January 2015

The New Zealand referee Ben O'Keefe has been added to the SANZAR referee's squad for the upcoming Super Rugby season.

New Zealand rugby referee Ben O'Keefe.

New Zealand rugby referee Ben O'Keefe. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

O'Keeffe has featured in the Heartland Championship, ITM Cup, as a Super Rugby assistant and at the 2014 Junior World Championship where he earned appointment to the final between England and South Africa.

His father Peter also refereed at provincial level and when he's not in the middle, O'Keeffe practices as an eye doctor in Wellington, New Zealand.

The South African Jaco van Heerden has also been promoted.

Nick Briant, Mike Fraser, Glen Jackson and Chris Pollock are the other New Zealand Super Rugby referees.

SANZAR referee's squad:

Stuart Berry (South Africa - 12 Super Rugby, 4 Tests)

Nick Briant (New Zealand - 13 Super Rugby, 2 Tests)

Mike Fraser (New Zealand - 14 Super Rugby, 4 Tests)

Angus Gardner (Australia - 14 Super Rugby, 3 Tests)

Rohan Hoffmann (Australia - 16 Super Rugby - 3 Tests)

Glen Jackson (New Zealand - 30 Super Rugby, 9 Tests)

Jason Jaftha (South Africa - 6 Super Rugby, 1 Test)

Craig Joubert (South Africa - 84 Super Rugby, 54 Tests)

Andrew Lees (Australia - 12 Super Rugby, 2 Tests)

Matt O'Brien (Australia - 2 Super Rugby, 0 Tests)

Ben O'Keeffe (New Zealand - 0 Super Rugby, 0 Tests)

Jaco Peyper (South Africa - 48 Super Rugby, 19 Tests)

Chris Pollock (New Zealand - 61 Super Rugby, 19 Tests)

Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa - 4 Super Rugby, 0 Tests)

Jaco van Heerden (South Africa - 0 Super Rugby, 0 Tests)

Steve Walsh (Australia 108 Super Rugby, 60 Tests)