13 Oct 2016

Strong Black Ferns squad named to take on Australia

3:03 pm on 13 October 2016

New Zealand women's rugby coach Glenn Moore has named a 28-strong squad to take on Australia in a two-Test series later this month, as they build up to the World Cup next year.

Glenn Moore is the new Black Ferns coach. He will remain as the Blues forwards coach, and was formerly the Highlanders coach. Moore is seen here encouraging his Highlanders team against the Lions in 2010 at Carisbrook
Photo: Rob Jefferies/PHOTOSPORT

Glenn Moore Photo: Photosport

Olympic Games silver medallists Kelly Brazier, Sarah Goss and Portia Woodman are included alongside fellow Black Ferns Sevens players Honey Hireme, Hazel Tubic, Janna Vaughan, Selica Winiata and Carla Hohepa (returning from injury).

The first match against Australia is a double header with the All Blacks Bledisloe Cup match at Eden Park on October 22.

The second is at QBE Stadium on the North Shore on October 26.

The Black Ferns squad also includes debutantes Aotearoa Matua, a 19-year-old prop from Counties Manukau; Manawatu halfback Kristina Sue; and Sharnita Woodman, a loose forward from Counties Manukau.

Justine Lavea, Linda Itunu, Lesley Ketu and Stacey Waaka were unavailable due to injury.

Moore said he and his coaching team were confident they had selected a skilled squad which was strong across the board.

"We have a great forward pack and very talented backs. We don't know much about the Wallaroos but the Laurie O'Reilly Cup is on the line and like all Australian teams they will be determined to perform strongly against New Zealand."


Chelsea Alley Midfield back North Harbour

Kelly Brazier First five eighth Otago

Kendra Cocksedge Halfback Canterbury

Honey Hireme Outside back Waikato

Carla Hohepa Outside back Waikato

Victoria Subritzky-Nafatali First five eighth Counties Manukau

Kristina Sue Halfback Manawatu

Hazel Tubic Fullback Counties Manukau

Janna Vaughan Outside back Manawatu

Renee Wickliffe Midfield back Counties Manukau

Selica Winiata Outside back Manawatu

Portia Woodman Outside back Counties Manukau


Eloise Blackwell Lock Auckland

Rawinia Everitt Loose forward Counties Manukau

Fiao'o Fa'amausili Hooker Auckland

Sarah Goss Loose Forward Manawatu

Charlene Gubb Lock Auckland

Aldora Itunu Prop Auckland

Pip Love Prop Canterbury

Aotearoa Matau Prop Counties Manukau

Charmaine McMenamin Loose forward Auckland

Toka Natua Prop Waikato

Aleisha Nelson Prop Auckland

Te Kura Ngata-Aerengamate Hooker Counties Manukau

Aroha Savage Loose forward Counties Manukau

Angie Sisifa Loose forward Otago

Charmaine Smith Lock North Harbour

Sharnita Woodman Loose forward Counties Manukau