7 Mar 2010

Barker wins Auckland Match Racing Regatta

9:15 am on 7 March 2010

The Team New Zealand skipper Dean Barker has won the the Auckland Match Racing Regatta, beating Britain's

Ben Ainslie 2-races to nil in the final, sailed on Waitemata Harbour.

Ainslie finished the qualifying rounds top of the leaderboard while Barker only scraped into the semi finals but enjoyed a change in fortune.

He beat fellow New Zealand skipper Adam Minoprio two-nil in the semis and then accounted for Ainslie by the same score to win the regatta.