Navigation for Resound

All episodes

Programme Four: 6 November 2015

DOUGLAS LILBURN: Landfall in Unknown Seas


DOROTHY KER: On the Bridge

LYELL CRESSWELL: The Blackness of Darkness

Full episode

Programme Three: 30 October 2015

HAY: White Rain

BISLEY: Illumination

BODY: Paradise Regained

LILBURN: Symphony No 3

Full episode

Programme Two: 23 October 2015

HARRIS: Paoro (to echo); Senryu

CARR: Promenade

SHORTIS: An Tuiream Bais

Full episode

Programme One: 16 October 2015

LYELL CRESSWELL - Voices of Ocean Winds

VICTORIA KELLY - Piece for violin and piano


Full episode
Prev 1 3

Resound is a venture between Radio New Zealand Concert and SOUNZ, the Centre for New Zealand Music, funded by NZ On Air.

The aim is to unlock recordings of significant compositions by New Zealand composers from our archive. In a series, we hear from composer and conductor Kenneth Young, a member of the Resound artistic panel. He puts compositions into context, with personal commentary on the composers, and in-depth analysis of the music.

During a series, Resound airs on RNZ Concert at 10:00pm on Fridays, on Sound Lounge.

Full list of works featured


Recordings date back as far as fifty years ago, with works that were played on air with a license for two broadcasts. The re-licencing efforts of the Resound project have secured permissions from composers and performers to allow listeners to enjoy these important historic recordings once again.

Over the last few years our New Zealand recordings have been gradually transferred into digital formats, so that we can  re-broadcast select works and also offer them to listeners on our website.