14 Jun 2006

Samoa's new Electoral Commission led by former MPs

9:27 am on 14 June 2006

Samoa's newly appointed Electoral Commission is being chaired by two former Members of Parliament , both of whom were unsuccessful candidates in this year's election.

Former Human Rights Protection party MP Leilua Punivalu has been appointed chairman while former opposition party deputy leader Leilua Manuao is deputy chairman.

The commission is reviewing the findings of the previous Commission of Inquiry into the election practices that have not been implemented.

They have also looked into several other areas to improve the process of future elections and to avoid further problems.

The Commission is expected to report back to cabinet in about three months