15 Apr 2013

Mana Party to target Waiariki in election

7:30 pm on 15 April 2013

The Mana Party says it will focus on two Maori electorates in the next election - including the seat held by Maori Party MP Te Ururoa Flavell.

Mr Flavell won Waiariki in 2011 with a majority of 1883 votes.

The Mana Party candidate who came second, Annette Sykes, plans to stand again in 2014.

Party leader Hone Harawira won Te Tai Tokerau in the 2011 election and Mana will defend that electorate also.

Mr Harawira said the Maori Party is in disarray because of Mr Flavell's attempts to secure a co-leadership position, and believed that will damage his chances for re-election in Waiariki.

He told his party's annual meeting at the weekend that Mana Party branches continue to enrol disenfranchised Maori Party members throughout the country.

Mr Harawira, a former Maori Party MP, said it was with a tinge of sadness that he bears witness to the self-destruction of that party.

He said Mr Flavell remains hell-bent on not listening to Maori Party members who tell him they want Pita Sharples to remain as co-leader.