25 Oct 2011

All Blacks named rugby's team of year

6:45 am on 25 October 2011

The All Blacks have continued their winning streak taking out the team of the year at the International Rugby Board awards.

Coach Graham Henry was named coach of the year for a record fifth time in Auckland on Monday night.

However, the three All Blacks in the running for player of the year were pipped for the big prize which went to French Captain Thierry Dusatoir.

Dusatoir had been named man of the match in the nail biting final on Sunday night.

Former chairman of the New Zealand Rugby Union Jock Hobbs was given a special award from the IRB for his services to the game.

Mr Hobbs, a former All Black captain, stepped down from his role as chairman of the NZRU last year because he is suffering from leukaemia.

He was awarded the Vernon Pugh Award for distinguished service.

Mr Hobbs lead the team that won the bid for New Zealand to host the 2011 World Cup.

He handed out the 100th test caps to both Richie McCaw and Mils Muliana during the tournament.

Former All Black captains David Kirk and Sir Brian Lochore and former All Black wing Jonah Lomu were all inducted into the IRB Hall of Fame.