2 Jan 2011

Halberg Award finalists announced

6:06 am on 2 January 2011

The finalists for the annual Halberg Awards have been announced, with the All Whites up for the most categories of any sport thanks to their unbeaten run at the football World Cup.

The team, captain Ryan Nelsen and coach Ricki Herbert are nominated.

They are up against the All Blacks, the Kiwis and the Silver Ferns and the world champion rowing pair of Eric Murray and Hamish Bond for team of the year.

The top sportsman award is between Nelsen, All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw and Kiwis captain Benji Marshall, rounded out by X Games freeski champion Jossi Wells.

Coach of the Year finalist Herbert faces similarly stiff competition from All Blacks coach Graham Henry and Kiwis coach Stephen Kearney, together with Sevens rugby side coach Gordon Tietjens.

The Sportswoman of the Year will be fought out between last year's supreme winner Valerie Adams, Silver Ferns captain Casey Williams, cyclist Alison Shanks, squash player Joelle King and runner Nikki Hamblin.