1 Feb 2010

Labour selection process underway

3:18 pm on 1 February 2010

The selection process for Labour's candidates for next year's general election is underway.

Nominations for four electorates, seen by the party as key, battleground seats, closed on Friday.

Jacinda Adern, a first term Labour MP, is the sole nominee for Auckland Central.

Carol Beaumont will contest Maungakiekie for Labour next year.

Damien O'Connor will stand in West Coast Tasman, and Charles Chauvel in Ohariu.

Sitting MPs Phil Twyford and Carmel Sepuloni will run off against two other nominees for the Waitakere candidacy in March.

Selections for another 35 electorates will be held in June and July, with the rest completed by the end of the year.