15 Oct 2012

ITM Cup 2012 semifinalists confirmed

8:57 am on 15 October 2012

Canterbury and Wellington have booked home ITM Cup semifinals in the national rugby provincial championship.

Canterbury's convincing 63 - 22 win over Bay of Plenty last night confirmed they will host their semifinal against Taranaki next Saturday.

Earlier, Wellington's 33 - 17 win over Taranaki secured the Lions the other Premiership home semifinal against Auckland.

Play-off action starts on Friday night in the Champsionship division, with second-placed Otago hosting Tasman.

Championship leaders Counties Manukau will host last year's Premiership relegation team, Southland on Saturday.

Southland secured their semifinal spot after beating Manawatu 17 - 11 in a tight race for the playoffs.

Having won last year's ITM Cup Championship and their promotion into this year's Premiership, the Hawkes Bay Magpies have ended the 2012 season at the bottom of the Premiership table, meaning relegation and a return to the Championship in 2013.