15 Dec 2012

McCaw wins rugby player of the year award

11:22 am on 15 December 2012

All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw has been named the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year at the New Zealand Rugby Awards.

The All Blacks were named team of the year and Steve Hansen coach of the year.

The Auckland loose forward Rawinia Everitt was named women's player of the year.

All Blacks and Chiefs loose forward Liam Messam was named the Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year.

Manawatu and New Zealand under-20 emerging talent Jason Emery won the Age Grade Player of the Year.

This year's IRB Sevens Player of the Year Tomasi Cama added the New Zealand award, while professional-player-turned-professional-referee Glen Jackson was named the Referee of the Year.

Hurricanes captain and centre Conrad Smith won the Super Rugby Player of the Year award, while Canterbury's Robbie Fruean picked up the ITM Cup Player of the Year award.

Wanganui's Peter Rowe was named the Heartland Player of the Year.