2 May 2013

Woods cleared by golf's governing body over Masters infraction

6:04 am on 2 May 2013

Golf's governing bodies have ruled that Augusta National officials made the correct call not to disqualify world number one Tiger Woods for an improper ball drop at the Masters last month.

Woods controversially avoided disqualification from the event when, after failing to add strokes to his scorecard for an improper drop, officials used discretionary powers to hand him a two-stroke penalty.

Aided by a recently amended rule announced at the 2011 Masters, Woods was not disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard because his infringement was based on television evidence.

The Royal & Ancient and the United States Golf Association have found the original ruling was based on exceptional facts and officials were right not to disqualify Woods but stressed players are still under an obligation to return a correct scorecard and understand the rules.