3 Dec 2009

Baabaa's name formidable side to face the All Blacks

8:14 am on 3 December 2009

Australia will supply four players for the Barbarians side that will face the All Blacks at Twickenham on Sunday morning.

Winger Drew Mitchell, first five Matt Giteau, flanker George Smith and Wallabies captain Rocky Elsom have been named in the starting line-up, with halfback Will Genia and hooker Stephen Moore named on the reserves bench.

New Zealand skipper Richie McCaw, recently crowned the IRB 2009 world player of the year, and Cory Jane - back in his first-choice position of full-back - are the only two survivors from the All Blacks team that beat France 39-12 in Marseille last weekend.

And the Twickenham crowd won't have a second chance to see Dan Carter, who starred in New Zealand's November win over England, after coach Graham Henry left the first five out of his 22-man squad.

Stephen Donald will run out at Number 10 for his first start of the tour with prop John Afoa also making his first start against a star-studded Barbarians side that features All Black wing Joe Rokocoko.

New Zealand have yet to lose on this tour, having defeated Australia (in Tokyo), Wales, Italy, England and France.

Three of New Zealand's four debutants on this tour, Zac Guildford, Ben Smith and Tamati Ellison, will start the match, while the fourth, Mike Delany is on the bench.

The Barbarians are captained by South Africa's World Cup-winning lock Victor Matfield and features several of his fellow Springboks in star wing Bryan Habana, centre Jacques Fourie, halfback Fourie du Preez and Bismarck du Plessis.

The starting team, which was traditionally composed of players from Britain and Ireland, features just three northern hemisphere names in Wales centre Jamie Roberts and Italian forwards Carlo del Fava and Salvatore Perugini.


Drew Mitchell (AUS); Joe Rokocoko (NZL), Jacques Fourie (RSA), Jamie Roberts (WAL), Bryan Habana (RSA); Matt Giteau (AUS), Fourie du Preez (RSA); George Smith (AUS), Schalk Burger (RSA), Rocky Elsom (AUS); Victor Matfield (RSA, capt), Carlo del Fava (ITA); WP Nel (RSA/uncappped); Bismarck du Plessis (RSA), Salvatore Perugini (ITA)

Reserves: Stephen Moore (AUS), Tenai Mtawarira (RSA), Quintin Geldenhuys (ITA), Andy Powell (WAL), Will Genia (AUS), Morne Steyn (RSA), Leigh Halfpenny (WAL)

New Zealand

Cory Jane; Zac Guildford, Tamati Ellison, Luke McAllister, Ben Smith; Stephen Donald, Brendon Leonard; Rodney So'oialo, Richie McCaw (capt), Liam Messam; Anthony Boric, Jason Eaton; John Afoa, Corey Flynn, Wyatt Crockett

Reserves: Andrew Hore, Neemia Tialata, Adam Thomson, Tanerau Latimer, Jimmy Cowan, Mike Delany, Sitiveni Sivivatu