28 Feb 2010

Canada wins mens team speedskating gold

1:16 pm on 28 February 2010

Canada has won the Olympic men's team pursuit title in a tight race against the United States, giving the home country their first medal in men's speedskating at the Vancouver Games.

Canadians Denny Morrison, Lucas Makowsky and Mathieu Giroux won the eight-lap, 3,200m race with a time of three minutes 41.37 seconds.

The crowd erupted in cheers with Canadian Prime Minster Stephen Harper and double short track gold medallist Charles Hamelin in the stands joining the thunderous reaction.

The U.S. team, comprised of 1,000m bronze medallist Chad Hedrick, Brian Hansen and Jonathan Kuck, took the silver.

The Netherlands, with 5,000m champion Sven Kramer, 1,500m winner Mark Tuitert and Jan Blokhuijsen, took bronze by beating Norway by 0.55 seconds.