18 May 2010

Cronk, Taylor get Queensland Origin debuts

6:41 pm on 18 May 2010

Two rookies and a recuperating Cameron Smith have been named in the Queensland rugby league team for the opening State of Origin game in Sydney on Wednesday week.

The Queensland selectors opted to give the inspirational Test hooker Smith until the weekend to prove he can overcome an elbow injury sustained in the trans-Tasman Test.

And Cooper Cronk and David Taylor are set to make their Origin debuts after being included in the 17.

The team is: Billy Slater, Darius Boyd, Greg Inglis, Willie Tonga, Israel Folau, Darren Lockyer (c), Johnathan Thurston, Matt Scott, Cameron Smith, Petero Civoniceva, Nate Myles, Sam Thaiday, Ashley Harrison. Interchange: Cooper Cronk, David Shillington, Neville Costigan, David Taylor. (18th man: Ben Te'o).