20 Mar 2011

Harrigan concedes Warriors error

6:13 pm on 20 March 2011

The National Rugby League referees boss Bill Harrigan concedes his officials got it wrong by not using replays to check for a possible try to the Warriors in Saturday night's loss to the Wests Tigers in Sydney

Replays suggested the Tigers centre Blake Ayshford didn't ground the ball in his in-goal before Feleti Mateo dived on it.

Momentum then was with the Warriors, who went on to lose 20-12, and coach Ivan Cleary later questioned the call.

Harrigan agrees Ayshford didn't ground the ball but says junior referee Alan Shorthall deserves credit for being decisive.