Music Through the Night

Whether you're working a shift or listening from your pillow, the uninterrupted sounds of Music Through the Night keep you company through the wee hours from midnight to 6am.

12:00 AM Today

Disc 1

Night Music 15: Classical Favourites for Relaxing and Dreaming - Various artists (Naxos 8.551135)

1:15 approx - Disc 2

SCHUMANN: Piano Quintet in Eb Op 44; DVORÁK: Piano Quintet in A Op 81- Artur Schnabel (pno), Pro Arte Quartet (Arabesque Z 6613)

2:20 approx - Disc 3

CICONIA: Doctorum principem; Per quella strada; PADOVA: Imperial sedendo; CICONIA: O felix templum jubila; ANON: O Maria, virgo davitica; CICONIA: O Padua, sidus preclarum; PADOVA: La douce cere; CICONIA: Con lagreme bagnandome; Gloria, Spiritus et alme; Una panthera; DA CASERTA: Del gloriosa titolo; DA TERAMO: Un fior gentil; CICONIA: Sus une fontayne; Le ray au soleyl; DA TERAMO: Sumite, karissimi; Dime, Fortuna; Gloria: Ad ogni vento - Orlando Consort (Archiv 459 620)

3:35 approx - Disc 4

DVORÁK adapted Talmi: Sonatina in G Op 100; SCHUBERT: Theme and Variations for flute and piano Op 160; REINECKE: Flute Sonata in E minor Op 167, Undine - Yossi Arnheim (fl), Daniel Gortler (pno) (Meridian CDE 84320)

4:40 approx - Disc 5

Greatest Hits: Marches

Marches from Clarke, Bach, Handel, Beethoven, Berlioz, Elgar, Verdi, Sousa, Bagley, Alford, Arne, J Wagner, Holst, Herbert, Williams & Prokofiev - Various ensembles (Sony MLK 66710)

12:00 AM Tomorrow

Disc 1

MAHLER ed Cooke: Symphony No 10 - Berlin Phil/Simon Rattle (EMI CDC 5 56972)

1:10 approx - Disc 2

MARAIS: Suites, in E minor; in G minor; in C - Quadro Hotteterre, Walter Möller (cello), Bob van Asperen (hpschd) (Teldec 9031 77617)

2:20 approx - Disc 3

ANON: Rejoice in the Lord; PURCELL: Remember not, Lord, our offences; AMNER: Come, let's rejoice; TOMKINS: When David heard; BAIRSTOW: I sat down under his shadow; GOSS: These are they that follow the Lamb; TAVERNER: Christe Jesu, pastor bone; PHILIPS: O beatum et sacrosanctum dicum; HOWELLS: Nunc dimittis; VAUGHAN WILLIAMS: O vos omnes; DERING: Factum est silentium; STANFORD: Justorum animae; WOOD: Hail gladdening light; TAVENER: A Hymn to the Mother of God; Hymn for the Dormition of the Mother of God; ELGAR: They are at rest; WALTON: A litany; MORLEY: Nolo mortem peccatoris; TALLIS: O nata lux; RUTTER: Loving shepherd of thy sheep; STONE: The Lord's Prayer; SHEPPARD: In manus tuas; HARRIS: Bring us, O Lord God - Cambridge Singers/John Rutter (Collegium COLCD 113)

3:30 approx - Disc 4

ROSSINI: String Sonatas, No 1 in G; No 2 in A; No 3 in C; No 4 in Bb; No 5 in Eb; No 6 in D - Orch of the Age of Enlightenment (Hyperion CDA 66595)

4:50 approx - Disc 5

Nigel Kennedy's Greatest Hits

Works for violin by Vivaldi, Massenet, Satie, Vaughan Williams, Debussy, Bach, Kreisler, Bach, Trad, Kennedy, Monti, Vivaldi - Nigel Kennedy (vln), Various artists and orchestras (EMI 5 573302)